Haddenham Bucks

Mummers At Large!

Home » News » Mummers At Large!
Mummers 01
Mummers 01

Dig out your wallets and purses, blow off the cobwebs and let the moths have some fresh air.

It's nearly time to honour the fine folk tradition that is the Haddenham Mummers and their historically accurate theatrical enactment (of what, we're not entirely sure) ... but please give them some money to go away!!

For a perfect view in the three-and-nines (ask your grandad!) here is their schedule of appearances this year:

In Haddenham:

Saturday 3rd Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Saturday 3rd Dec 9.30pm Haddenham Ceilidhs
Sunday 4th Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Friday 9th Dec 8.00pm Village Carol Service
Saturday 10th Dec From 12 noon Winterfest

Outside the Village:

Sunday 11th Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Friday 16th Dec all evening Local Village Pubs*
Saturday 17th Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Sunday 18th Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Thursday 22nd Dec 1.00pm The Thursday Club

*Local Pubs:
The Crown at Cuddington, The Plough at Cadsden, The Seven Stars in Dinton, Bottle and Glass at Gibraltar and the Bell at Chearsley

Village Tour on Friday 23rd December:

7.30pm Clerkenwell Cottages
7.45pm Kings Head
8.15pm House of Spice
8.45pm Sports and Social Club
9.15pm Rose and Thistle
9.45pm Green Dragon
10.30pm Rising Sun

popular recent storiesAlso in the news

Child Photographer 04
Haddenham Webteam: Sat 17 Feb 10:30am

Haddenham & District Rotary Club is hosting another of its impressive 'Young Photographer Competitions',Run with support from Paul Wilkinson Photography.The subject theme for 2018 is "CONTRASTS" (for all age groups)The competition offers a Prize Total of £300Entries must be delivered by noon on Saturday 14th April 2018 to any one of following three receiving...

Green Lane Bridleway 02
Haddenham Webteam: Wed 14 Feb 3:45pm

Haddenham Parish Council has issued an advanced warning that clearance work will be in progress along Green Lane bridleway (running from Churchway, opposite the post office) for two weeks from Monday 19th February.Walkers are advised to take care. Clearance of the undergrowth is taking place before the nesting season. This is in preparation for the making of a tarmac path (which will be 2...

Moving-home 03_Haddm
Haddenham Webteam: Tue 13 Feb 9:30am

Recently moved to Haddenham? You are warmly invited to a 'Welcome Evening' for new (and newish) residents to Haddenham, with wine and nibbles.When?Tuesday 20th Feb 2018, 7.30 — 9.00pmWhere?At the Haddenham Youth and Community Centre (Woodways, HP17 8DS, attached to the Junior School).Hosted by Churches Together in Haddenham (CTIH),If you can, please let us know if you're...