Haddenham Bucks

Mummers At Large!

Home » News » Mummers At Large!
Mummers 01
Mummers 01

Dig out your wallets and purses, blow off the cobwebs and let the moths have some fresh air.

It's nearly time to honour the fine folk tradition that is the Haddenham Mummers and their historically accurate theatrical enactment (of what, we're not entirely sure) ... but please give them some money to go away!!

For a perfect view in the three-and-nines (ask your grandad!) here is their schedule of appearances this year:

In Haddenham:

Saturday 3rd Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Saturday 3rd Dec 9.30pm Haddenham Ceilidhs
Sunday 4th Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Friday 9th Dec 8.00pm Village Carol Service
Saturday 10th Dec From 12 noon Winterfest

Outside the Village:

Sunday 11th Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Friday 16th Dec all evening Local Village Pubs*
Saturday 17th Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Sunday 18th Dec 10.30am Chinnor Train
Thursday 22nd Dec 1.00pm The Thursday Club

*Local Pubs:
The Crown at Cuddington, The Plough at Cadsden, The Seven Stars in Dinton, Bottle and Glass at Gibraltar and the Bell at Chearsley

Village Tour on Friday 23rd December:

7.30pm Clerkenwell Cottages
7.45pm Kings Head
8.15pm House of Spice
8.45pm Sports and Social Club
9.15pm Rose and Thistle
9.45pm Green Dragon
10.30pm Rising Sun

popular recent storiesAlso in the news

Xmas Tree Festival 02
Haddenham Webteam: Thu 07 Dec 9:15am

The folk at St Mary's Church are delighted to announce that the Community Christmas Tree Festival 2017 is about to begin. Last year's festival was a great success and they are very keen to welcome as many people to see the displays again this year.The will be no charge for admission to the Festival but visitors are invited to make a donation towards Friends of St Mary's (which...

Bucks Herald for Haddm logo
Christina Jeffery: Wed 06 Dec 3:30pm

It appears that there was a technical glitch to the Bucks Herald this week and, as a result, the weekly input from our local village correspondent, Christina Jeffery, did not appear in print. Although there may be something of a disconnect between those who choose to read a local newspaper and those who prefer to gain their local news online, we are reproducing Christina's column...

poppy appeal image
Haddenham Webteam: Mon 04 Dec 2:00pm

Local organiser, Jeanne Marshall, has let us know that this year's poppy appeal raised £7,377. She would like to thank all the contributors, firms and house-to-house collectors who braved the cold and wet to achieve this splendid...

© 2012 - 2017 Haddenham.net