Haddenham

Carwithen Blue Plaque Unveiled

Home » News » Carwithen Blue Plaque Unveiled
Carwithen Plaque Unvieled
Carwithen Blue Plaque

The Carwithen Music Festival began on Friday 1st July — a celebration of Doreen Carwithen's centenary, here in Haddenham, her place of birth.

Doreen Carwithen lived in the building in High Street, now owned by Peter and Margaret Aldington and housing the studios of photographer Paul Wilkinson.

A blue plaque was unveiled there by Debbie Wiseman OBE, president of the festival and one of the UK's leading female film composers.

The plaque has been funded by Haddenham Museum Trust.

A fascinating and beautifully curated museum documenting the life of Doreen Carwithen has been created in Paul Wilkinson's studio. Admission is free and is open to the public on Saturday 2nd July from 13:00-16:20. Read much more here

Also learn more about the Carwithen Music Festival and Doreen herself on the dedicated website.

popular recent storiesAlso in the news

Festive Trail
Francesca Flaxton: Fri 02 Dec 8:30am

Haddenham Festive Trail opens tomorrow (Saturday 3rd December) with a Countdown and "Switch On" at 4.30pm. This will take place outside 6 Printers Piece (near Banks Park), which was voted the most popular festive display last year. Neighbours and village residents are all very welcome to come along to watch as the Harding Family's home becomes fully illuminated at 4.30pm. Fiona...

Allotment Quiz Image 06a
Haddenham Webteam: Wed 30 Nov 9:00am

An Allotments Quiz will be taking place on Saturday 7th January, in the village hall.The format is the same as usual -- tables of up to ten people -- £10 per head for quiz + chilli supper -- bring your own drinks and extra snacks.If you would like to come and form a table, please can you let John Wheeler know by Tuesday 3rd January so he can plan for numbers.Contact John on...

Christmas Services graphic 01
Haddenham Webteam: Tue 29 Nov 8:30am

Here are the scheduled Christmas activities and Services in Haddenham — please check individual church websites for any changes to the publicised times.Churches Together in Haddenham Fri 9th Dec 7.00pm Village carol service in HVH Sat 17th Dec 10.30am-12noon Carol singing at Haddenham Garden Centre Wed 21st Dec 7.00pm Carols at The Whistler Sat 24th Dec ..